Contact Information

Research Consortium of Academy of Finland

Consortium leader:
taina.kurki-suonio@aalto.fi

Joint Working Session for Integrated Plasma-Wall Modelling

Participants of the Joint Working Session 2017 (only those remaining on Friday morning)

Helsinki/Tervaniemi, Finland, 31 January - 3 February 2017

Programme & Presentations
Download agenda
The talks given in the workshop can be found here (password protected).

Plasma boundary properties, material erosion & migration, fuel retention and formation of mixed materials in a tokamak device are closely linked. The description of the underlying processes within a self-consistent model is the main subject of current code development and validation. Code validation and interpretation of experiments by modelling are part of the programme of EUROfusion Work Packages JET1, JET2, MST1, PFC, CD and PMI. The programme for this modelling activity meeting aims at reviewing development status and validation activities of the existing codes with particular emphasis on scenarios encountered in devices with all-metal wall configuration. Future benchmarking experiments and code development e.g. regarding implementation of missing physics and extension of the computational domain will be discussed with particular emphasis on experiment coordination between modelling groups and tokamak teams within EUROfusion. In this sense this EUROfusion modelling activity meeting should be regarded as a platform to exchange ideas across boundaries of related topics (i.e. across different work packages).

Venue
The host, VTT, will provide transportation from Helsinki to Tervaniemi. Located by a lake, it nowadays provides an inspiring atmosphere and modern facilities for meetings. In the evenings you can tune up your appetite with Finnish specialties - sauna and ice-water. It should be noted that the traditional post sauna ice-water dip is considered a quasi-mandatory activity since the very first meeting at Tervaniemi. You have been warned.

Accommodation
Tervaniemi offers cottages for 1-6 people. Participation fee (appr. as 492 €, payable at check-out in Tervaniemi) covers accommodation costs (3 people sharing a cottage) and all meals except the joint meeting dinner on Thursday; this optional meal will be charged separately (cost estimate 40 €).

Transport
There are daily flight connections between Helsinki and all major European destinations. Participants are advised to arrive on Monday 30 January 2017. The organisers will not make any pre-bookings for hotels in downtown Helsinki. Attending persons should take care of their own accommodation for the night between Monday and Tuesday (booking.com). It is recommended to stay rather close to Kamppi (department store and bus station) and the central railway station since the bus to Tervaniemi will leave in front of the Kiasma museum of modern arts. The local organisers will provide transport from Helsinki to Tervaniemi on Tuesday morning. Friday session ends after lunch and transport to the airport is provided as well.
  • Departure from Helsinki, charter bus stop in front of the Kiasma museum of modern arts, Tuesday 31 January at 8:30. Location link
  • Arrival to Helsinki-Vantaa airport (T1 and T2) Friday 3 February at 14:45 at the latest. You will catch any flight at 16:00 or later.
Local organisation
The meeting is locally organised by VTT and Aalto University. Information on the Tervaniemi site can be found at http://www.tervaniemi.com. In case of questions about local organisation, please contact Markus Airila, markus.airila@vtt.fi or Antti Hakola, antti.hakola@vtt.fi.

Scientific organisation
The programme of the meeting is organised by
  • Sven Wiesen (s.wiesen@fz-juelich.de)
  • Marco Wischmeier (marco.wischmeier@ipp.mpg.de)
  • Sebastijan Brezinsek (s.brezinsek@fz-juelich.de)
  • Antti Hakola (antti.hakola@vtt.fi)
  • Karl Krieger (krieger@ipp.mpg.de)
  • Gloria Falchetto (gloria.falchetto@cea.fr)
  • Andreas Kirschner (a.kirschner@fz-juelich.de)
  • Dimitry Borodin (d.borodin@fz-juelich.de)
  • David Coster (david.coster@ipp.mpg.de)
  • Mathias Groth (mathias.groth@aalto.fi)