Contact Information

Research Consortium of Academy of Finland

Consortium leader:
taina.kurki-suonio@aalto.fi

Participants of the Joint Workin Session 2020. Photo: Michael Komm

Joint Working Session on SOL and PSI Modelling

Tervaniemi, Finland, 28th to 31st of January, 2020

The main objective of this working session is to provide a discussion platform for current modelling and code development activities across the relevant Work Packages and Projects in EUROfusion. The emphasis is on identifying open issues, urgent near- and mid-term requirements, possible collaborations and proposals for supporting experiments within EUROfusion.

Programme: The programme will focus on selected ongoing EUROfusion modelling activities in the fields of plasma boundary and scrape-off layer (SOL) physics as well plasma-wall interactions (PWI). The participating Work Packages are PFC, MST1, JET1, CD, DTT1-ADC, SA, and S1. The working session will provide a platform for exchanging information and knowledge between the participating WPs, discussing current key issues for advancing the modelling work across the WPs, and training new participating PhD students. Future benchmarking of experiments and code development e.g. regarding implementation of missing physics and extension of the computational domain will also be discussed. The priorities of the event are discussing the interconnection between PWI and SOL physics with focus on 3D effects, assessing the accuracy and completeness of the datasets used, implementing additional first wall characteristics into plasma-surface interaction codes, understanding the global picture of erosion, retention, and material migration in tokamaks, and evaluating the impact of turbulence in edge modelling.

Download Agenda here (updated 28.1.2020)

Browse presentations here (password protected)

Venue: The host, VTT, will provide transportation from Helsinki to Tervaniemi. Located by a lake, it nowadays provides an inspiring atmosphere and modern facilities for meetings. In the evenings you can tune up your appetite with Finnish specialities - sauna and ice-water. One should note that the traditional post sauna ice-water dip is considered a quasi-mandatory activity since the very first meeting at Tervaniemi.

Accommodation: Tervaniemi offers cottages for 2-4 people. The estimated participation fee is 495 €/person, payable at check-out in Tervaniemi, and covers accommodation costs and all meals except for the joint meeting dinner on Thursday; this will be charged separately (30 €/person) on the first day.

Transport: There are daily flight connections between Helsinki and all major European destinations. Participants are advised to arrive on Monday 27 January 2020. The organisers will not make any pre-bookings for hotels in downtown Helsinki but the participants should take care of their own accommodation for the night between Monday and Tuesday. It is recommended to stay rather close to Kamppi (department store and bus station) and the central railway station since the bus to Tervaniemi will leave in front of the Kiasma museum of modern arts. The local organisers will provide transport from Helsinki to Tervaniemi on Tuesday morning. Friday session ends after lunch and transport to the airport is provided as well.

Local organisation: The meeting is locally organised by VTT. Information on the Tervaniemi site can be found at https://www.tervaniemi.fi/ .  In case of questions about local organisation, please contact Markus Airila, markus.airila@vtt.fi or Antti Hakola, antti.hakola@vtt.fi. 

Scientific organisation: The scientific coordinators of the meeting are:

Dmitriy Borodin (d.borodin@fz-juelich.de) and

Antti Hakola (antti.hakola@vtt.fi)

supported by the following colleagues as session chairs and moderators:

Sebastijan Brezinsek (s.brezinsek@fz-juelich.de)

Yves Ferro (yves.ferro@univ-amu.fr)

Derek Harting (derek.harting@ukaea.uk)

Karl Krieger (krieger@ipp.mpg.de)

Tilmann Lunt (tilmann.lunt@ipp.mpg.de)

Klaus Schmid (klaus.schmid@ipp.mpg.de)

Sven Wiesen (s.wiesen@fz-juelich.de)

Marco Wischmeier (marco.wischmeier@ipp.mpg.de)

Registration has ended.

Mission support: This meeting is eligible for mission support by EUROfusion according to the national reimbursement rates. Following your participation confirmation, you will be informed by the PMU about the Work Package supporting your mission. Please note: the meeting is by invitation only. A timely response is appreciated.

Important: Please do not submit on the IMS a request for mission support before receiving confirmation by the PMU to which Work Package to apply to.

Winter swimming facilities in Tervaniemi. Photo: Michael Komm